电视上典型的女性主角拥有完美的身材,在所有合适的位置都有正确的曲线, 藏在所有合适的衣服下. 电视上典型的男性角色已定调腹肌, 雕刻的手臂和明确的颚线. 尽管事实上这些类型的人代表了我们人口的最小一部分 (99% 我们当中的人看起来不是这样!), 我们让他们定义外观.

YLC希望您记住,您成为自己的方式是有原因的; 你内外都是美好的, 而不是外面定义你的东西. 您的个性和品格每天都在闪耀, 这就是人们看到并记住的. 不要把自己和其他人比较, 因为那不是你的本意. You’re great, 作回你自己.

请鼓励并知道您不只是电视角色. 你是一个有个人价值的人, 就像你一样,谁很棒, 并不需要按照社会告诉您的生活来模仿自己的生活. 你就是你,你的生活, 你的身体形象, 你的自尊心, 你的健康, and your future counts.

有关媒体素养的更多信息, please check out www.media-awareness.ca

请记住,你是重要的. 你的生命举足轻重, 并且你可以在这个世界上的差异. 如果你需要谈论这个或其他任何, 随时取得联系我们. 我们在这里为你.

The typical female main character on TV has the picture-perfect body with all the right curves in all the right places, tucked under all the right clothes. The typical male character on TV has toned abs, sculpted arms and a defined jaw line. And despite the fact that these types of people represent the smallest portion of our population (99% of us don’t look like that!), we let them define how we should look.

YLC wants you to remember that you were made the way you are for a reason; you are wonderful inside and out, and it’s not what’s on the outside that defines you. Your personality and character shines through every day, and that is what people see and remember. Don’t compare yourself to anyone else, because that’s not what you were meant to be.  You’re great, just the way you are.

Please be encouraged and know that you are so much more than a TV character. You are a person who has individual worth, who is awesome just the way you are, and doesn’t need to model your life after what society tells you to. You are you and your life, your body image, your self-esteem, your health, and your future counts. 

For more information on media literacy, please check out www.media-awareness.ca

Remember that you are important. Your life counts, and you can make a difference in this world. If you ever need to talk about this or anything else, feel free to get in touch with us. We’re here for you.