罗里和丈夫, 父亲, 和爷爷. 他出生于 坦噶尼喀 (现在被称为 坦桑尼亚 – 形成在坦噶尼喀合并一个新的国家, 桑给巴尔). 他被注册为国外出生的加拿大. Ruaraidh并不陌生,生活中的挣扎和创伤的已经亲身经历了许多曲线球,生命可以在你扔. 他是一个尝试的幸存者.

尽管在爱丁堡大学后毕业的学生, 性生活过程中改变Ruaraidh当枪手了的生活 16 五,六十岁的孩子, 与他们一起的老师, 在一个 屠杀 在邓布兰村一所小学, 苏格兰 1996. 两名受害者是他自己的孩子的朋友谁在另一个村参加另一所学校. Ruaraidh的生命和使命以来一直以稳定的生活,并帮助人们说“不’ 自杀, 有一个基本使命是帮助是“早期预警系统的一部分’ 这是必要的,以化解可能威胁犯下枪击和其他暴行在我们的社区人的定时炸弹.

他是美国心理咨询协会的专业会员和加拿大咨询 & 心理治疗协会. 他的研究生 爱丁堡大学. 和suicidologist和人类行为主义.

在其他奖项, 他是总统的国家奖由收件人 加拿大预防自杀协会 对于“卓越服务,加拿大的人”, 和 PREVNet 国家奖 (加拿大对欺凌预防权力). 他扬声器追捧的国内和国际上谈广播和电视为主题的专家.

他游泳逆潮流而动, 帮助人们了解,这是确定是人类.

罗里评论:

“该一刀切精神健康的所有方法行不通. 在过去的 20 多年来,我有散步的人一起谁一直在努力与各种情绪化的情况特权, 创伤, 和情况. 我还没有学会一个药丸,将修补一颗破碎的心脏. 我不是盘旋了车和说,我们已经得到了它的权利和其他人听错了. 所有我问的是,我们腾出空间给你的生命举足轻重,我们的方法.

我对所有帮助非常感谢和支持,我们从一些伟大的人民和企业有. 这确实是一个团队的努力.

YLC帮助人们与他们的理由活到重新连接. 我们希望恢复, 值, 和意义. 这样做, YLC帮助人们说“不’ 自杀. 我居住的证明团委工作。”

  • 小号. 罗里·巴特勒; 创办人 & 首席执行官; 你的生命举足轻重! 国际公司.

One of my favourite quotes:

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

Theodore Roosevelt Jr., 26th president of the United States from 1901 to 1909.

Ruaraidh is a husband, father, and grandfather. He was born in Tanganyika (now known as Tanzania – a new country formed in the merging of Tanganyika and Zanzibar). He was registered as a Canadian born abroad. Ruaraidh is no stranger to life’s struggles and trauma’s having personally experienced many of the curve balls that life can throw at you. He is an attempt survivor.

While a post-grad student at the University of Edinburgh, the course of life changed for Ruaraidh when a gunman took the lives of 16 five and six-year-old children, together with their teacher, in a massacre at a primary school in the village of Dunblane, Scotland in 1996. Two of the victims were friends of his own children who attended another school in another village. Ruaraidh’s life and mission since has been to steady lives and help people say ‘no’ to suicide, with an underlying mission to help be a part of the ‘early warning system’ that is necessary to defuse the human ticking time bombs that may be threatening to perpetrate shootings and other atrocities in our communities.

He’s a professional member of the American Counseling Association and the Canadian Counselling & Psychotherapy Association. He’s a postgraduate of the University of Edinburgh. And a suicidologist and human behaviorist.

Among other awards, he’s a recipient of The President’s National Award from The Canadian Association for Suicide Prevention for ‘outstanding service to the people of Canada’, and the PREVNet National Award (Canada’s authority on bullying prevention). He’s a sought after speaker nationally and internationally and speaks on radio and TV as a subject expert.

He swims against the tide, helping people to understand that it is ok to be human.

Ruaraidh comments:

“The one size fits all approach of mental health does not work. For over 20 years I have had the privilege of walking alongside people who have been struggling with all kinds of emotional situations, traumas, and circumstances. I have yet to learn of a pill that will mend a broken heart. I’m not circling the wagons and saying that we’ve got it right and everyone else has got it wrong. All I am asking is that we make room for Your Life Counts and our approach.

I am very grateful for all the help and support we have from some great people and corporations. It’s truly a team effort.

YLC helps people to reconnect with their reasons to live. We restore hope, value, and meaning. In so doing, YLC helps people to say ‘no’ to suicide. I am living proof that YLC works.”

  • S. Ruaraidh Butler; Founder & CEO; Your Life Counts! International Inc.

One of my favourite quotes:

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

Theodore Roosevelt Jr., 26th president of the United States from 1901 to 1909.